Study says French recycling rates are ‘disastrous’ (The Connexion)

Anecdotes aren’t valid evidence buuuuut, I know “for a fact” that not enough recycling is done in Paris.

It was so easy to recycle in when I lived in D.C., partially because I was on a (great) college campus that handled its own waste collection and recycling. The bigger reason, though, was because it’s the law in Washington for public and multi-unit residential buildings to recycle.

Contrast that with la ville capitale, where people barely even see the difference between the little yellow garbage bags and the green ones in the metro and on the streets. Apart from the HLM I lived in for a few months when I first arrived in the city, I didn’t even have recycling receptacles anywhere near where I lived.
People won’t recycle if it’s not easy. And we need people to recycle, at the very least.

Now, read the real evidence here at The Connexion.

Image from flickr.

Leave a comment